WDW Half Marathon Cancellation

Well, as you probably heard the WDW 1/2 Marathon was cancelled in January.  I was supposed to run the half on my 21st birthday but the night before the race, we were carb loading at Il Mulino and received the email that the race had been cancelled due to possible lightning the next morning.  I completely understand why they decided not to risk having thousands of runners stand in a parking lot when there was a 90% chance of lightning forecasted for hours.   RunDisney did a great job of offering other options to compensate for the cancellation from a full Disney gift card reimbursement to transferring to another runDisney race.  I didn’t expect them to do this, but it was fantastic and truly Disney guest service that they did.

On the bright side though, I was then able to go to the bar at our resort and right after midnight (and right before closing) I was able to get a drink with one of my cousins (shout out).  My aunt and uncle ran the half on the 7th, as many other motivated runners did and were cheered on by other resort guests.

My friend, sister, and I went to Hollywood Studios for opening and I rode Rock’n’Roller Coaster as the first ride on my 21st birthday which was awesome.  It ended up being a very cold day so we left Studios, had lunch back at the resort and then went to Disney Springs for my birthday dinner with all my family members.

I will definitely run another runDisney race, but since I don’t know what I am doing after graduation in May yet, I didn’t want to register for any others!

Leave a comment

Filed under Running, Walt Disney World, WDW Marathon Weekend 2017

Leave a comment